The Commission was created under the provisions of The Greenham and Crookham Commons Act 2002. It is comprised of 20 members, ten of whom are elected commoners and ten appointed representatives of various bodies. It sits for a three year period and is next subject to re-constitution on 1st May 2024. Any listed commoner is entitled to stand for election and only listed commoners may vote. West Berkshire Council (WBC) arranges and controls the voting procedure. It has to be understood that all commoners entitled rights are subject to the property and not to the individual owner. Properties and current owners listing is held by WBC.

The Commission usually meets four times a year. The meetings are open to the public and are held at Thatcham Town Council Offices or at Greenham Common Control Tower. Remote access by Zoom can also be offered at meetings.

The elected commoners are:

  • Chris Austin,
  • Derek Cutt,
  • Anne Johnson
  • Frank Huxtable,
  • Ken Neal, (Vice Chair)
  • Nicole Rorie,
  • Claudia Sievers
  • John Thorogood,
  • Michael Williams
  • Vacancy

Representing stakeholder organisations are:

The Commission also has advisors from:

Your Personal Data

The Commission collects and uses some personal data in the administration of the Commons. Personal data collected through the website is subject to the Privacy Policy at the foot of this page. The Commission also holds a separate Privacy Policy covering the management of personal data collected as part of its general management operations. The Commission is a not for profit organisation, and as such is not required to be registered with the Information Commissioner’s Office, however it is bound to comply with the legal requirements of the General Data Protection Regulations, and the Data Protection Act 2018. For more information contact the Data Protection Officer via the contact page.